Texting while driving will soon be illegal in Texas.
Gov. Greg Abbott on Tuesday signed into law a bill that creates a statewide ban on texting while driving.
Texas will become one of the last states to adopt some kind of texting while driving ban when the law takes effect Sept. 1. Texting would be punishable by a fine of up to $99 for first-time offenders and $200 for repeat offenses.
With 1 in 5 traffic crashes in Texas now caused by the growing problem of distracted driving this bill is great news for Texas drivers. The danger on the highways will only increase as a new generation of drivers, part of the smartphone generation, gets behind the wheel. This bill will help decrease crashes and deter current and future drivers from breaking the law on the road!
Get your questions answered - Call for a Free Consultation (817) 335-5525